Pearson’s Falls and Glen is a remarkable botanical wonderland that lies hidden in the foothills of the great Blue Ridge Mountains.
It was named for the young engineer, Charles William Pearson, who scouted the mountains for what was to become the Southern Railroad. A military man, farmer, and an engineer, Captain Pearson bought the Glen as part of a large tract of land that he wanted for his family. For years he and his heirs allowed generations of young people to picnic on the great stone table-rock that you will see at the foot of the Falls.
In 1931, the Tryon Garden Club was able to purchase the property through the generosity of an honorary member, visionary club members and careful planning. The property remains privately held and maintained by the Club.
Botanists and bird-enthusiasts from all over the country have come to explore, discover and catalogue the wonders of this rich cove forest. Used as an outdoor laboratory for botany and biology students from the surrounding colleges and universities, Pearson’s Falls and Glen is a site of frequent field trips for local science classes and elementary school children.
The Tryon Garden Club strives to improve the quality of the Pearson’s Falls experience. In recent years, we built the first public composting toilets in western North Carolina, which features a green roof planted with native plants. Our parking area, pathways, seating areas, and picnic facilities are always being improved upon. All of these are made possible through generous contributions of friends and visitors of the Glen.
The Polk Country Community Foundation has generously provided funding for the specific projects that have allowed the Tryon Garden Club to maintain the property, and generous benefactors have allowed us to establish an endowment fund.
We are proud to be designated as a North Carolina National Heritage Site of the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area and a North Carolina Birding Trail Site.